9 Days In Already At The Halfway Mark!

“Few things are impossible to diligence and skill. Great works are performed not by strength, but perseverance.”

~ Samuel Johnson ~

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.”

 ~Richard Bach ~

“Writing is like sex; you don’t have to wait until you’re an expert to begin doing it.”

 ~ Anonymous ~

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”

 Stephen King ~

It is only the 9 day point of this 31 day writing challenge and I am already at the halfway mark! The idea is to write 1,613 words a day until you reach 50,000 words. Well actually I just surpass the half way mark. The goal is to reach 50,000 words in 31 days! I am at 26,000 words at 9 days! I am on fire! Sorry, I am just really excited.

This novel is my third novel but second book to the first book I have ever finished writing.

I love the characters … I love the direction this book it going. This is where you hear people talking about the story taking on a life of its own. My characters are taking me for an adventure.

These quotes I chosen above are quite fitting. Perseverance, perseverance … that never give up attitude! Malcolm Galdwell put it so eloquently with this 10,000 hours theory. The only way to become an expert at something is to repeatedly do it. Jumping in and getting your hands dirty, sweating it out and getting the job done.

Elizabeth Gilbert painted such a lovely view of the creative process. The muse … where you get your creative energy from … that energy that drives you to sit down and write. She is such a powerful and inspirational individual. If you have never seen her speak about her writing then go to Ted.com and look for her. While you are there look for Steve Jobs and J.K. Rowlings as well it will be worth the time spent.

There are so many components that make an individual a writer and there are so many writers out there. I saw a shirt with the words “Published Author this time next year” it resonated with me in the sense that I am going to do everything I can to get published at this point. No more sitting idly on the sidelines.

Someone said to me the other day ‘oh so you finally sent your manuscripts out that’s good, so you can start getting the rejection slips.’ The idea is that you have to acquire a stack of rejection letters before you can get published. I said ‘no, the reason I sent my books to these two publishers is not to collect rejection slips I am expecting to get writing contracts!’ Why would I send my babies out there for anything else but to get published? If I don’t have faith in my writing how can I expect anyone else to have faith? When I write I see my stories playing out in my head like a movie, and why can’t they reach for that level of attention? I think it is possible. That is the key to everything. Attitude and perseverance keys to everything in life … I do live with a motivational speaker it tends to wear off after a while.

So until next time … happy writing or more importantly happy reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

