I am participating in the Writing Contest: You Are A Writer

“I am participating in the ‘Writing Contest: You Are A Writer’ held by Positive Writer.”

I write therefore I am a writer. We all have tales to tell, stories to weave … everyone, is a story and everyone has stories. Just snippets of conversations, a vision of something can turn into an idea. My favorite is “What if” … what if this happens, what if that happens, what would it be like if this was real? Or if that was real? I even dream in science fiction, stories, characters and ideas come to me at all times of the day and night! I have piles of notes everywhere.

 

My mother use to read to me as a child and I found it so inspirational, the stories, the characters and how their lovely tales would unfold. I was hooked! At age 8 I knew I was a writer, I love concocting characters and having their stories unravel via my imagination. As I grew older I shared some of my tales with a few and discovered the power of keeping an audience’s attention. In high school I even wrote stories for others to pass off as their own. Received compliments by a couple English teachers that I could have a career at this, if I wanted to. In college, I heard this again.

 

You would think after hearing words of encouragement from people I knew, and indirectly so many inspiring words of wisdom from amazing talented people as J.K. Rowlings’ tale of publishing and Stephen King’s tale of getting his words in print (so many more too), I would have been more diligent in being a published writer.

 

What held me back from not embracing my writing inner guru? Shamefully I’ll admit I thought these people who kept telling me that I was good were just being kind. My family and friends would encourage me but again, I assumed it was more out of love than anything else.

 

In my thirties I finished my first adult science fiction, which I sent to one book publisher who said they were booked up for the next two years but suggested I send it to another publisher. This book I had written is the first book that is part of a series, instead of sending my novel off to another publisher I thought it might be practical to let it sit for a bit until I got the second book for the series written. Since then, I finished two children books; I have done some technical writing and finally a ghost writing project. I had sent one of my children’s books to a publisher who publish works from that province only (I did not notice that disclaimer) they loved my work and said if I ever decide to move out east to let them know they would publish my book. They also encourage me to try another publisher in Toronto. I had sent it to two more publishers, the second one told me I had a good idea but the format was wrong, they were booked up for the next few terms. When I sent it to the third company I had not heard back from them and did not send it out again, I had started another writing project at the time and it got put aside. I have just finished my second adult novel which is not part the series and I’m working on my outline for my third novel (which is book two for the series). Now I just need to get my books to the right publisher.

 

What got me to the point of sending my novels out? As amazing as I am, I found, I have also been a source of inspiration for the members in my family.  My husband, who never thought of himself as a writer, wrote his first book and is starting a second one. My son who is 8 years old wrote a story alone at school for an English assignment and asked me to help him send it off to the book publishers. He then told me “I’m going to get my book published before you because I am at least sending my book out there!” this has appealed the little competitive streak within and I have just sent my second book out to the publishers. Dipping a toe in the publishing pool again I will not stop this time until I am published and my tales of “What If’s” are available to the world if they choose to pick up a book written by R. J. Davies Mornix and be transported into a world that I created.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

